Beyond EU borders

Frontex concluded working arrangements with the authorities of 19 partners: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Cape Verde, North Macedonia, Georgia, Kosovo*, Moldova, Montenegro, Nigeria, the Russian Federation, Serbia, Türkiye, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

The agency has also signed working arrangements with the Commonwealth of Independent States Border Troop Commanders Council and the MARRI Regional Centre in the Western Balkans.

As a result of the European Border and Coast Guard Regulation, through which Frontex enjoys extended mandate in many fields of operation, similarly working arrangements needed an update. In 2021, Albania and Georgia were the front runners, while next renewals are already in the pipeline.

All working arrangements can be found in the Public Register of Documents and the operational conclusions are announced timely in Frontex press releases.


* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status and is in line with UNSC 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence.