National authorities

Austria: Polizei

The Austrian National Police was re-organised in 2005, consolidating the former law enforcement bodies "Polizei" and "Gendarmerie" into a single unit. The General Directorate for Public Security, as part of the Ministry of the Interior, is in charge of approximately 1 000 police stations within district commands (27 city police commands and 83 district police commands). The district commands are part of 9 provincial police commands. In 2010, the total police staff was approximately 26 500 serving throughout the country’s nine provinces.